Plan, Plan, Plan

Not everyone like’s to plan. For some it’s a huge waste of time, some a satisfying and integral part of any big decision, for me it’s a necessity. Since Aug last year I’ve been planning a 3 month trip across America, not because I find it satisfying but because the truth is I don’t know anything about driving across the country, or driving at all, or the country (where is Idaho again?). I’ve researched and compiled a list of everything I may ever possibly need to see, taste, sleep in, or experience because I’m scared I’ll miss something important.

What is my point you ask? Where am I going with all this? As I’m approaching the start of my trip I’ve realized a few things, with the most important being that planning is not the same as doing. It’s only once you actually do the thing you say you will do that you see the results, and it’s not always like you “planned”.

Today, I’m a week out of starting my trip and I wish there was a word that meant both terrified and excited and confident because that’s pretty much how I feel. I’ve done the planning, I even did some practice trips (yup, I’m that girl), and now it’s all about to begin. It feels a little like the first day of school and I’m worried I bought the wrong pencil case, and my shoes aren’t right so no one will like me. While I don’t imagine my shoes will make or break this trip, I know that the last few months of research and talking about what I’m going to do is never going to be the same as getting in that car and just driving.

People talk about a lot (A LOT) about things they want to do, but action seems to be less of a thing that happens. I get that it’s not always easy to make a change, but what I don’t get is the wasted energy in talking about things you never intend to do. We all need to do more and talk less.

So what will you do tomorrow?

All pics taken my me 🙂 If you like them follow me on IG

@out.of.office1

One thought on “Plan, Plan, Plan

  1. I’m a huge planner myself and I feel comfortable knowing what there is to see, what is important to know before a trip and all that stuff! Definitely agree that planning and doing is different! Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment